Quality Pavement Awards

The APAI Quality Pavement Awards recognize asphalt pavements of excellence. Contractors may submit non-INDOT projects in the following eight categories: New Construction >2,000 tons, Non-Governmental New Construction, Non-Governmental Reconstruction, Reconstruction County, Reconstruction City, Governmental, Aviation, and Sports/Recreational Surfaces. The projects, which must have been completed in the calendar year of submittal, are judged by APAI staff and reviewed by a member panel for final selection. Judging criteria includes workmanship, quality of longitudinal and transverse joints, handwork, difficulty of construction, and final appearance. Submittals are due in October and awards are announced annually at the Winter Conference and Expo.

2020 Quality Pavement Awards

Aviation Category

Winning Project: I-17-071 Rehabilitate Runway 14/32 and Taxiways

Contractor:  Milestone Contractors, LP

Owner:  Indianapolis Airport Authority

Designer:  Hanson Professional Services

Governmental Construction

Winning Project: NACS Elementary School

Contractor: Brooks Construction Co., Inc.

Owner: Northwest Allen County Schools

Designer: Barton-Coe-Vilamaa Architects

A picture containing outdoor, cloudy, sitting, waterDescription automatically generated

New Construction Greater than 2,000 tons

Winning Project: 109th St. East Phase 1

Contractor: Walsh & Kelly, Inc.

Owner: City of Crown Point

Designer: Development Visions Group, Inc.

Non-Governmental New Construction

Winning Project: Mt. Comfort Logistics Center Building 1

Contractor: E & B Paving, LLC

Owner: Ambrose Property Group

Designer: Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.

Non-Governmental Reconstruction

Winning Project: Indianapolis Motor Speedway Parking Lots

Contractor: Milestone Contractors, LP

Owner: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Designer: American Structurepoint, Inc.

Reconstruction City

Winning Project: Ardmore Avenue Improvements

Contractor: E & B Paving, LLC

Owner: City of Fort Wayne

Designer: A & Z Engineering, Inc.

Reconstruction County

Winning Project: Folsomville Degonia Road & N 225 E (Folsomville Road) Resurfacing

Contractor: J.H. Rudolph & Co., A CRH Company

Owner: Warrick County Board

Designer: Warrick County

Sports and Recreation

Winning Project: South Knox Tennis Courts

Contractor: E & B Paving, LLC

Owner: South Knox School Corporation

Designer: Kimley-Horn and Associates